Maynard Police Department

Maynard Officials Provide School Bus Safety Tips

Town of Maynard, Massachusetts
Kevin Sweet, Town Administrator
Municipal Building
195 Main St.
Maynard, MA 01754
Maynard Police Department
Mark W. Dubois, Chief of Police
197 Main St.
Maynard, MA 01754

For Immediate Release

Monday,  August 10, 2015

Contact: John Guilfoil
Phone: 978-841-9948
Email: john@jgpr.net

 

Maynard Officials Provide School Bus Safety Tips

MAYNARD — Town Administrator Kevin Sweet and Police Chief Mark W. Dubois would like to advise the community about several safety practices surrounding school buses.

School begins on September 3 this year.

“We are excited to start a new school year and look forward to seeing children beginning or continuing in the district,” Town Administrator Sweet said. “As parents guide their children onto the bus, we ask that they have conversations with them about how to remain safe when they’re getting in and out of the vehicle.”

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) reports that approximately 400,000 students in the state are transported to school by buses every year.

School buses are a relatively safe form of transportation. DPH reports that the majority of related injuries occur to pedestrians who are boarding or exiting a bus and are hit by passing traffic or while in one of the bus driver’s blind spots. Children ages 4 to 7 are at the highest risk of injury.

Town Administrator Sweet and Chief Dubois suggest parents follow the safety procedures outlined by DPH to prevent accidents this school season.

• Educate children on safe bus riding and walking behaviors when getting on and off the bus.

• Teach young children to take five giant steps (10 feet) in front of the bus and to wait for the driver’s signal before crossing.

• Develop appropriate bus pick-up/drop-off policies.

• Closely supervise children under age 10 who must cross the street after exiting the bus.

“Drivers, please be cognizant of school buses and remember to always remain a safe distance behind the vehicles and always stop when pick-up and drop-off occurs,” Chief Dubois said. “It is against the law to pass a school bus when its stop sign is out.”

The fine for illegally passing a school bus is a maximum of $200. Repeat offenders may have their licenses suspended.

###